Thieves in China

image

Even before arriving to China, I’ve been warned about pickpockets. I’ve heard incidents from friends about their wallet, cell phones or cameras being stolen. Accordingly, I keep all my valuables close to me to be safe. But even then, I never really thought too much about these incidents except simply stories of bad luck. That was until the other day when I witnessed first-hand, a thief doing his dirty business. And this was not in a crowded place like a subway station. It took place out in the open. Here’s how the scene went down:

It’s around 9:30 PM. I get off the bus and walk the rest of the way home. Near where I live is a big intersection crosswalk located under a freeway overpass. I cross the street while a woman is crossing from the opposite side. Following her is a shifty looking young man who is walking in a very conspicuous manner which I notice immediately. As we cross paths, the young man starts aggressively inching closer to the woman. At first, I think it is some sort of joke until I see the man quickly reach out into the woman’s right coat pocket and take what looks like a wallet. He immediately starts walking away in another direction and the poor lady probably won’t realize her wallet was stolen until she gets home.

Unfortunately, I didn’t do anything to actually deter the thief. I was shocked and in disbelief that something like this was actually happening. Like I said, I’ve only heard stories about thieves, but never actually witnessed an incident go down (and fortunately never been a victim). Upon reflection of what I saw, I do want to share some observations about the scene and why the thief was so successful.

  • Your Outerwear: Especially in the winter time, you really shouldn’t put any valuables in your jacket or coat pockets. This was an easy access for the pickpocket. Seriously, keep your valuables close to you.
  • The Crosswalk: You are so focused on crossing the street without getting hit by a car. This was probably why the poor woman let her guard down.
  • The Overpass: With no shadows and a darker setting under here, you can’t easily tell if someone is walking behind you. Therefore, it was an even easier opportunity for the thief.

Taking all this into account, thieves are actually (and unfortunately) quite skillful in their craft. Factors like lighting and setting are probably well thought out by pickpockets. I guess this is what makes thieves so successful in China. I can now say that theft is real and very prevalent in China and you MUST be aware of your surroundings if you don’t want to become a victim.

Leave a comment